“My name is Ban. But I’m not James Ban. My codename is not 007 but I will take over office in 07.” Those were the official first three sentences of the person taking over the most impossible job on earth. Ban Ki-moon from South Korea will be the new UN Secretary General replacing Kofi Annan. Could he make a difference in this world? Well, the veto powers (read; the US) would like him to be just another secretary while oppressed nations would really want him to be a general. What ever happened to the no-nonsense breed of officials? People like de Cuéllar or Boutros-Ghali. I guess we just have to wait and see. My bet, he’s just another beautified puppet.

Another quote from his speech yesterday, “I’m making a list and checking it twice. Gonna find out who’s naughty and nice. Ban Ki-moon is coming to town.” Very fucking funny.

