During my first week in the new office in Cyberjaya, I don’t really have much to do. I arrive early, getting to know the company in general & its processes, making up new friends, setting up my laptop & workstation, making up even more friends and then it’s time to go home.

That was last week and the thing is, before I go home I would stop by Alamanda, Putrajaya. Every day! Maybe I was escaping the traffic jams, maybe I was checking out MPH bookstore for some books I have in my wish list, maybe I was craving for the “sambal udang” buns at Rotiboy or maybe I was just buying myself a bottle of Selsun Blue shampoo. But 2 out of the 4 evenings last week, I went to the movies.

On Wednesday evening, I went straight to buy myself a ticket for the 8:30pm show of Something Borrowed. Yes, I have a thing for chick-flicks. Don’t even ask why. I chose my seat at the last row of the middle section of the theatre hall, the first seat next to the aisle, immediately after the theater hall’s entrance. When I was at the ticket counter, I can see that the show was 80% full. I’m guessing that lots of couples are watching this movie because of the special Wednesday ticket prices.

Anyway, I then had my dinner, went for Maghrib prayer and then did a little time wasting session at MPH bookstore.

*****

It was 8:25pm when I was walking along the corridor, looking for theatre hall number 7, with a laptop backpack on my back, a box of caramel popcorn in my left hand and a bottle of Spritzer in my right. I entered the still-brightly lit theatre hall. The first few hundredth of a second, I notice that the hall was still empty. And during that small window of time, I seemed to know my seat by heart that almost like closing my eyes, I took 2 steps from the entrance towards it.

I nearly dropped my popcorn box when I saw next to my seat was a “huge” girl, sitting comfortably waiting for the movie to start. She was the only other person inside the theatre hall. I didn’t know what to do. My mind was thinking that if I sat down at my seat, people coming in the theatre hall would think that the girl and I was a couple. Before that day, I was convinced that I was the kind of person that doesn’t care about what other people say, what more other people that I don’t know. Unfortunately, in a rather sub-conscious manner, I’m still a typical human being who cares about what other people say about me.

Arghh! Of all the seats inside the theatre hall!

Still standing, I put down my bottle of Spritzer in my seat’s cup-holder and began pretending to check my mobile phone, pretending to put it on silent mode although I’ve already did that at MPH.

And since I’ve already put down my drink in the cup-holder, I thought that it would’ve been awkward if I go out and wait in the corridor. Again, the “thinking about what other people say” mentality came to play its mischievous role. I was thinking that if I did that, the “huge” girl would realize that I was uneasy with her sitting next to me, so on and so forth.

The next 4 seconds, I was still standing there doing nothing. Then I decided, to hell with what other people say! I put down my backpack and sat down on my seat.

The moment my ass touched the velvet cushion, people started coming in the theatre hall in bulks, as if the awkwardness that I felt a few seconds before was carefully planned by the rest of the world, including the “huge” girl as one of the perpetrators.

Come to think about it, it was actually not a big deal anyway. Although I must admit that during the whole course of the movie, I was leaning away from the person next to me and it gave me a sore back until the next morning.

