EXT. CHARLESTOWN COMMUNITY GARDENS – DAY

The sun shines across the garden. We see the New Town projects behind Doug across the water and a soccer field populated by immigrants mid-game behind Claire.

She digs in the dirt as Doug watches her, sitting on a wood beam.

*****

“This sound woke me up. At first I didn’t know what it was. Sounded like an animal that got trapped. I’d never heard a man cry before. I came downstairs in my underwear. I see my father in the kitchen. First thing I remember was the ashtray. Must have been a hundred cigarettes in there. Ash like a little mountain. He stopped crying and was just sitting there watching TV on our little black and white. No sound. I think he just didn’t know what else to do.”

“He looked at me standing there in the doorway in my Underoos. He said, ‘Your mother left. She’s not coming back.’ Just like that. Smoking cigarettes and eating a TV dinner at six in the morning.”

(beat)

“We lost our dog the year before. I wanted to make these posters in case my mother was lost, someone could call us like the guy who found our dog. To this day my father will tell you he helped me make those posters. But he didn’t. He sat in the kitchen, drank a case of beer and I went out by myself on School Street asking people if they’d seen my mother.”

(beat)

“Her name is Doris. My grandmother had a place that’s a restaurant in Tangerine, Florida. So I used to imagine maybe that was where she went. Then I came to terms with the fact that… doesn’t really matter, you know? Wherever she went, she had a good reason to leave here. She didn’t want to be my mother anymore and she wasn’t coming back.”

 She has stopped gardening and has been listening to him.

 “And now you know a little bit about my family but I’m still not showing you my apartment.”

 Claire laughs. Tension released.


Credit to Peter Craig, revision by Chuck Hogan, Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard

